} Mission statement, finally

I really like this line from 7 Habits:

"With a mission statement, we can flow with changes. We don't need prejudgments or prejudices. We don't need to figure out everything else in life, to stereotype and categorize everything and everybody in order to accommodate reality."

Mostly because I do tend to spend way too much time trying to figure out other people, judge them, put them in boxes...etc.

Here is what I have written as a mission statement. After having had this book for ages, and re-reading the first few chapters multiple times, it's the first time that I have ever managed to "finish" a mission statement, though no doubt it is liable to revision.

Stubborn and determined – persist, if the cause is right

Kind and generous – be sensitive to exigencies of life; no one owes anyone anything

Open-minded and accepting – be ready to examine if the cause is right

Always make time to listen – human connection and understanding above all else

Firm, but fair – have standards, but not double standards; speak for others when necessary

Push people up, not bring them down – do not drown in negative thoughts; utilise them, and do not give in to emotions. Help others succeed.

Calm, a swan under pressure – be the one to rally (yourself and others), not drown. Keep a sense of humour.

Resourceful – find the third way

Helpful, giving – be brave and generous while still honest

I would say the only thing that is unhelpful about this mission statement is that it doesn't help me decide where to go from here... But then again, maybe it means that what I do for work doesn't quite depend on my principles; I could do anything and my principles would or should apply equally. So the answer is - it doesn't really matter (??).

Anyway, it's been a tough time at work. I think I'm falling into the old trap again, of blaming and hating everyone.

Sigh. I just feel like I need to succeed in something, for once. Just something that I can be proud of myself for. It has been a long time since that - I keep letting myself down.

2019-01-20, 4:02 p.m..
before } after


we1rd0. getting old. deviantart, livejournal, the wunders, LOOK, A BIRD!, wise words. contact

ghetto. dumping ground for angst/etc since 2002.
newest & old stuff. diaryland.

elsewhere. links here.

heal the world. make poverty history. ONE.

your say.
"The problem with London is the tourists. They cause the congestion. If we could just stop the tourism, we could stop the congestion." Prince Philip at the opening of City Hall, 2002.