} way back into love

At some point, you've just got to back yourself. This is something I remember reading from a Masterchef Australia contestant, and has been coming to mind today.

I have to believe in myself first, because on the days when I have no positive affirmation the only person I can turn to is myself.

In Mongolia, when I lost all confidence -- I needed to back myself then, trust that I made the decision to join the trip for a reason.

With each piece of work I do and each decision I make at work -- I need to back myself and know that I am capable. I may be struggling, but I am capable. And even if someone differs in opinion, that may be just it - a difference of opinion - or, at the most, an opportunity to grow and learn. It does not speak of failure or incompetence.

But I always judge others harshly, so I judge myself harshly as well.

This quiet confidence and self-assurance can only come from an honest assessment of my knowledge and abilities, not talking up or down. Also - be kind to yourself, trust that you are not a bad person, not a lazy person, not an unmotivated person, not a fearful person. Feelings that come and go -- even if they seem overwhelming or seem to remain for a long time - do not define you.

I need to find a way to believe in myself again.

2019-08-19, 8:39 p.m..
before } after


we1rd0. getting old. deviantart, livejournal, the wunders, LOOK, A BIRD!, wise words. contact

ghetto. dumping ground for angst/etc since 2002.
newest & old stuff. diaryland.

elsewhere. links here.

heal the world. make poverty history. ONE.

your say.
"The problem with London is the tourists. They cause the congestion. If we could just stop the tourism, we could stop the congestion." Prince Philip at the opening of City Hall, 2002.