} What is your name?

I finally watched / read NAMJOON's speech at the UN and, some awkward English aside, it was honestly one of the most moving things I had read in a while.

"I would like to ask all of you. What is your name? What excites you and makes your heart beat?
"Tell me your story. I want to hear your voice, and I want to hear your conviction. No matter who you are, where you’re from, your skin colour, gender identity: speak yourself.
"Find your name, find your voice by speaking yourself.
"I’m Kim Nam Jun, RM of BTS.
"I’m a hip-hop idol and an artist from a small town in Korea.
"Like most people, I made many mistakes in my life.
"I have many faults and I have many fears, but I am going to embrace myself as hard as I can, and I’m starting to love myself, little by little.
"What is your name? Speak yourself.”

NAMJOOOOOOOOOOOOOON!

It made me think of a quote, which now keeps running through my mind:

"Every time someone steps up and says who they are, the world becomes a better, more interesting place."
-- Captain Holt

It touches me really deeply particularly now, when (it feels like) I am digging deeper than before. Trying to hold the parts of myself. Trying and failing and trying again to trust myself. These concepts that seemed so cheesy before, I'm only just starting to grasp how profound they actually are.

2020-03-07, 10:22 p.m..
before } after


we1rd0. getting old. deviantart, livejournal, the wunders, LOOK, A BIRD!, wise words. contact

ghetto. dumping ground for angst/etc since 2002.
newest & old stuff. diaryland.

elsewhere. links here.

heal the world. make poverty history. ONE.

your say.
"The problem with London is the tourists. They cause the congestion. If we could just stop the tourism, we could stop the congestion." Prince Philip at the opening of City Hall, 2002.