} struggles

I have learned the pantry aunty's name (sort of). Her name is Mdm Khoo, and I have committed that to memory (I hope). My follow-up mission is to learn her first name so I can call her by name!

The 10,000 steps challenge also got thrown by the wayside... largely because I injured my toe a few weeks ago (in early Feb) so I had to minimise my walking, or indeed any foot activity. In the meantime, I got used to the laziness, naturally. I'm only starting to try to get back to my previous pace. Although even then, it was monstrously hard to even hit 5,000 steps a day. Maybe I should make that my challenge instead (5,000 steps a day!).

Anyway, I have been exercising more regularly than I have been in a long time, thanks to the Health Promotion Board's "Sunrise in the City" programme, which basically opens up a bunch of gyms for free classes at particular times, mostly before 9am. As a result, I have started yoga and found it not as weird as I thought it would be (it is weird, but I evidently imagined it to be even weirder than it actually is). Although the classes get full really fast so I don't get my preferred yoga class every time.

For example, I have signed up for a class tomorrow called HOT HULA, which (when I looked it up on youtube) looks basically like twerking, except Hawaiian-style. That should be a very amusing exercise and I hope I never have to tell anyone that I went for that class.

I have also started a sourdough starter which I really hope will work out. After my first somewhat-successful attempt at making bread, my next 2 attempts at baking had not been so successful (although my croissants at least taste good despite being rock-solid, so I still counted that as a tick :p). But after watching Michael Pollan's Cooked and hearing Richard Bourdon's explanation for why sourdough breads (i.e. traditionally made breads) contain nutrition that active yeast breads would not have, I really want to try this "authentic" bread-making method. It also feels pretty cool to think that I am growing my own micro-organisms o/ which are tasty, not deadly o/

i have had to grapple with a lot of questions and doubts at work, thanks to this lack of work situation which we have been having for a while. actually, it has really been getting me down. I think I have been struggling with some issues for a while personally, and it doesn't help that there is nothing at work to distract from these thoughts in my head. the work situation has also worsened all my naturally-occurring self-doubt... I think the truth is, I am really angry at myself and I hate myself for taking this job so hastily instead of giving myself more options. Although I guess, looking back, that is probably crazy because how would I have known the terrible situation I would be faced with 9 months later?

I think I have to come to some decisions, and this is what I have so far:
1. This cannot be a permanent or long-term situation.
2. But while I am in this situation, I want to do as much good as I can and I must not be too quick to judge people as Nefarious Spawn of the Devil.

There is a lot of anger and frustration that I feel all the time, although I know I should save such anger for the really important things. For the things that matter. And the sooner I can re-learn to dismiss the people that don't matter to me one jot, the sooner I can rediscover that inner peace I once had...

2016-03-06, 1:37 p.m..
before } after


we1rd0. getting old. deviantart, livejournal, the wunders, LOOK, A BIRD!, wise words. contact

ghetto. dumping ground for angst/etc since 2002.
newest & old stuff. diaryland.

elsewhere. links here.

heal the world. make poverty history. ONE.

your say.
"The problem with London is the tourists. They cause the congestion. If we could just stop the tourism, we could stop the congestion." Prince Philip at the opening of City Hall, 2002.