} confessions of an introvert?

i do find this video incredibly inspiring. she is right when she said that the audience can feel when they know that the speaker is standing up there out of his/her comfort zone, the audience appreciates that s/he is not up there for the pleasure of hearing the sound of his/her own voice.

and in many ways she is right. i can't accurately say that i have grown up thinking that it is wrong to be so quiet and reserved. when i was VERY young i was shy at times but i was also very loud and domineering a lot of the time... i ended up thinking that being so over the top was childish, so i strived to be a nicer and gentler person. that, together with the awkwardness that came with puberty, made my introvertedness come out more and more. until i decided that being so reserved was also not quite right (the negative connotations that seem to come with being introverted also do not help), so - as accurately described by the speaker - i kept putting myself in situations that i find uncomfortable and not really very fun, just to try to conform. i mean, this is at least 10% of the reason why i chose to go to law school.

the thing is, i like the person that i am now much better than the person that i was before i made myself take those steps out of my comfort zone.. it's true, i'm not the most secure person in the world, but i am a lot more comfortable with myself now, i am beginning to learn about myself.

and it's true that i need my alone time, i need my personal space. but if i had always let myself just recede into my shell i would never have grown up, not even a little bit. i think it's important to expand my comfort zone (since it's not a very large zone to begin with) and i think i will try to continue to push myself (although it is harder nowadays).. until i get too old and tired to do this to myself, i suppose.

at least i'm not in a profession that requires groupwork ALL the time. teehee

2012-03-06, 2:15 p.m..
before } after


we1rd0. getting old. deviantart, livejournal, the wunders, LOOK, A BIRD!, wise words. contact

ghetto. dumping ground for angst/etc since 2002.
newest & old stuff. diaryland.

elsewhere. links here.

heal the world. make poverty history. ONE.

your say.
"The problem with London is the tourists. They cause the congestion. If we could just stop the tourism, we could stop the congestion." Prince Philip at the opening of City Hall, 2002.