} a note to myself more than anything else..

this is a pretty appalling piece of news.

The truth is I don't always remember what I'm doing or why I'm doing it. It takes things like this to remind me what unfairness is and why, deep down, I always want to fight for the little guy. Admittedly I have an underdog complex although, in my defence, I only go for the deserving underdogs. Also because of my penchant for lateness I tend to have an appreciation for taxi drivers (especially the ones who bend the traffic rules).

The truth is law school builds people to believe that it is no longer cool to have ideals. It is definitely not cool to believe that one can help people. Even I am embarrassed sometimes to disclose why I want to be a lawyer - still want to be, although (honestly) I don't think it is good for me, or much suited for me. The cool thing is to be reasoned and realistic and, annoyingly, to be able to fight for both sides.

This is a very indirect route and there are distractions, waylays, along the way. The truth: I don't even know if it is the right route. But I am trusting that somehow, I will know when I am going wrong and I will be able to tunnel my own way out.

Maybe that is it at the end of the day. There is no "right" route. Whichever way they will get you. And by "they" I mean, of course, everything that you stand against and everything you didn't want to be. Sign up for an NGO and they turn out to be crooks, or at best, no longer remembering their goals. Go for the AGC and end up sending mere boys to the gallows for their stupid mistakes. Work for the UN and realise you are pretty powerless against the big boys with the guns. Of course these are exaggerations. That is the scary thing. In real life it will take place much more subtly and you will not realise it because by then you would have grown to believe that this IS right. you are on the side of the angels.

next thing you know you are setting up a cupcake shop because cupcakes make people happy. the truth is you are just resigned that you can't help the kind of unhappiness that can't be cured by cupcakes.

The only way to play the game is to set your own rules.

2012-02-12, 4:16 a.m..
before } after


we1rd0. getting old. deviantart, livejournal, the wunders, LOOK, A BIRD!, wise words. contact

ghetto. dumping ground for angst/etc since 2002.
newest & old stuff. diaryland.

elsewhere. links here.

heal the world. make poverty history. ONE.

your say.
"The problem with London is the tourists. They cause the congestion. If we could just stop the tourism, we could stop the congestion." Prince Philip at the opening of City Hall, 2002.