} felt like a lifetime

just a song today, cos i feel like blogging although i have nothing to blog about except that the live earth concert didnt turn out as great as i expected. it was... ook. i dont think it had a really big impact. in fact i suspect that most of the people at the concerts would turn up, have a good time, and go home leaving behind their trash at the concert sites. i dont know, i hope im wrong. =/

aanyway.

A Lifetime - Better Than Ezra

Allie woke up 8AM, Graduation day
Got into a car, crashed along the way

We arrived late to the wake, stole the urn while they looked away
And drove to the beach
'cause I knew you'd want it that way

And you were standing
On the hood of the car
Singing out loud
When the sun came up

And I know I wasn't right
But it felt so good
And your mother didn't mind
Like I thought she would
And that REM song was playing in my mind
And three and a half minutes
Felt like a lifetime

Felt like a lifetime

And you move like water
I could drown in you
And I fell so deep once
'Till you pulled me through

You would tell me, "No one is allowed to be so proud, they never reach out, when they're giving up"

And I know I wasn't right
But it felt so good
And your mother didn't mind
Like I thought she would
And that REM song was playing in my mind
And three and a half minutes
Felt like a lifetime

Are you sitting in the lights?
Or combing your hair again?
And talking in rhymes?
Are you standing in the lights?

When I got home, heard the phone, your parents had arrived
And your dad set his jaw, your mom just smiled and sighed

(And you move like water)
But they left soon, and I went to my room
Played that disc that you'd given me
And I shut my eyes
Swear I could hear the sea

And we were standing
On the hood of your car
Singing out loud when the sun came up

And I know I wasn't right,
But it felt so good.
And your mother didn't mind,
Like I thought she would.
And that REM song was playing in my mind
And three and a half minutes
Three and a half minutes

Felt like a lifetime

----------------
i never knew the meaning of the song until know. i never knew its so sad. first heard the song cos i copied a whole bunch of songs from savie, and i knew delle liked the band a lot, so i got curious and tried listening to one of the songs.

well needless to say i ended up liking it a lot but i never paid that much attention to the lyrics until now. =(

actually i do have something to blog about now. haha. i was checking wongfu to see if they have anything new and they dont, so i ended up reading the wongfu guys' blogs. quite fun to read cos they're filled with pictures and photos. one of the posts stood out cos it was about the uncertainties in the path that they chose as independent film makers. and i have been thinking about that a lot, especially since the university talks last thurs. ever since i 'made' my choice, i've been second-guessing myself even more than before. is it really what i like? will i be passionate enough? will i be good enough? i guess the gist is that i've been so worried that i dont have enough talent or motivation or love for what im thinking of pursuing. but yea reading that wongfu entry just made me realise that this is probably the kind of uncertainties that is inevitable in any arts career (probably sports, too). i guess any artist - be it musician, painter, film maker - no matter how good, can never feel secure about their whole future. even if you make it big you could end up just being a one-hit wonder. its not like a regular office job where income and livelihood is secured. so..yeah, i guess the uncertainty comes inevitably, like in a package.

maybe the risk might even be part of what makes it all the more interesting.

oh well. i duno. i should just take it easy, i know, but... blahhhh. =/

2007-07-08, 10:45 p.m..
before } after


we1rd0. getting old. deviantart, livejournal, the wunders, LOOK, A BIRD!, wise words. contact

ghetto. dumping ground for angst/etc since 2002.
newest & old stuff. diaryland.

elsewhere. links here.

heal the world. make poverty history. ONE.

your say.
"The problem with London is the tourists. They cause the congestion. If we could just stop the tourism, we could stop the congestion." Prince Philip at the opening of City Hall, 2002.