} stranger than fiction

my dad was recording his usual sunday night F1 race, so i couldnt switch channels.. so i decided to pop in a dvd to watch while eating my dinner. and it happened to be Stranger Than Fiction, a movie about a taxman who finds out that his life is being narrated by a writer, and that he's about to be killed off by the writer. i think its a good movie, much better than Adaptation which has a quite similar concept. like with a good book, when you read it you can't put it down... thats sort of how i felt when i was watching the movie.

and i guess another reason why I liked the movie was because i could sort of identify with the main character. why do i always identify with the loser awkward characters, haha. but yeah, i just couldnt help feeling that i could understand how he felt and the things he was going through... and deep down i knew i was rooting for him to have a happy ending as though hoping that i, too, can have a happy ending one day. =/ sounds crazy, i know. =P

it was really cool to watch the character really change and develop during the course of the movie... in little ways, and then bigger ways, but still realistic. it makes me think about the things i wish i could change about myself... or can I? maybe i can, but i just wont. i wish i could have someone else telling me what to do with my life, to take the right steps and make the right changes. cos i dont seem to be doing a very good job at directing my own life. and its not that i dont want to talk about it with others and im purposely being emo. I really do wish I could talk about this with someone but I just never know how to express this RAH feeling that keeps clinging on to me, that prevents me from even expressing it. haha how do I say it!

mmm anyway. suddenly this post turned into a ramble about myself. =| ok and since i dont know how else to talk about the movie without spoiling it all, i'll just add a quote. it sounds much better when narrated by Emma Thompson than when I type it out, but i guess it will do, cos these words just touched me so much.

Sometimes, when we lose ourselves in fear and despair, in routine and constancy, in hopelessness and tragedy, we can thank God for Bavarian sugar cookies. And fortunately, when there aren't any cookies we can still find reassurance in a familiar hand on our skin, or a kind and loving gesture, or a subtle encouragement, or a loving embrace, or an offer of comfort. Not to mention hospital gurneys, and nose plugs, and uneaten Danish, and soft-spoken secrets, and Fender Stratocasters, and maybe the occasional piece of fiction.

And we must remember that all these things, the nuances, the anomalies, the subtleties which we assume only accessorise our days are, in fact, here for a much larger and nobler cause: They are here to save our lives.

oh and, song of the day. hehe

it feels strangely liberating to sing the song out loud =)

2007-06-04, 12:11 a.m..
before } after


we1rd0. getting old. deviantart, livejournal, the wunders, LOOK, A BIRD!, wise words. contact

ghetto. dumping ground for angst/etc since 2002.
newest & old stuff. diaryland.

elsewhere. links here.

heal the world. make poverty history. ONE.

your say.
"The problem with London is the tourists. They cause the congestion. If we could just stop the tourism, we could stop the congestion." Prince Philip at the opening of City Hall, 2002.