} School carnival = funness. Mad maniac = scary.

School carnival today. Fun, but also kind of tiring. My feet still hurt from walking around too much... I had to take my shoes off on my bus home, and people stared. Like I was being rude or something. Sheesh.

I got a tattoo, loaded myself with food (the fishballs were really good!) and played some games... Didn't have much time to entertain myself that much, though. Spent the morning and the early afternoon shifts (till 3.30) walking around giving out flyers, then I helped watch over the games stall. By the time I had some free time... practically everything was sold out. *sigh*

I saw this cool necklace thing that I really wanted, but when I had the money to buy it, it was gone. Pfffttt.

But I got a tattoo and lots of food (Famous Amos cookies!!! ^^). The tattoo was fun to scratch off too... haha. XD

Something scary happened on my way home, though.

It happened at the bus stop where I was waiting for the 154 bus as usual... There were also a whole, big family (coincidentally, Indonesian family) and one Indian man waiting at the same bus stop. I was just sitting there, minding my own business, massaging my sore feet, when the family started shouting.

They were pointing at something behind. I turned around. Across the canal, there was this maniac who placed a little kid over the railing - one push and he'd have been on his way to the next world. But the man wasn't making any attempt to hold him or anything - he seemed to be talking, whispering to the little boy. I mean, WTF. Gawd, I was half scared to death... I thought of calling the police, then realised I didn't have my phone with me. (Shit.)

I didn't know what was going to happen... I was scared that the mad maniac was attempting to kill the kid. I was thinking in my head: Gawd...is that his own kid? Should I go there and do something? Wasn't trying to be heroic or something, but try standing an inch away from that deep canal without a railing to support you. It's a scary thought even for me, and that kid was so small.

Then the afore-mentioned Indonesian family started screaming again. They were shouting: "Police! Call the police!" in heavily Indonesian-accented voices. They got my and the Indian man's attention, and started telling the Indian man about the crazy man...

The mad maniac, of course, started cursing at them. They'd got the attention of the whole neighbourhood to him...so he couldn't do anything. I could only stare - I was so (stupidly) scared. Eventually the mad man (after a rude pointing and screaming session) gave in and lifted the boy over the barrier and on to the other side.

You can't imagine how relieved I was.

Then my bus came, and I don't want to know how the kid will end up. I guess the incident made me realise - there are really evil people in this world. I mean, all of us know Osama and Bush and Hussein - all those dictators - but not all of us are aware that really nasty maniacs really exist, maybe in our own neighbourhood. It's kind of scary to think of.

OK, I sound like a paranoid freak. x___o;

Oh, and Sun Lu accidentally took my Fiesta T-shirt home with her, cos she went home early. Darn. I left the shirt with her cos I didn't bring a bag... =____=;;;

Will have to ask her for it on Tuesday. :



2003-07-06, 8:09 p.m..
before } after


we1rd0. getting old. deviantart, livejournal, the wunders, LOOK, A BIRD!, wise words. contact

ghetto. dumping ground for angst/etc since 2002.
newest & old stuff. diaryland.

elsewhere. links here.

heal the world. make poverty history. ONE.

your say.
"The problem with London is the tourists. They cause the congestion. If we could just stop the tourism, we could stop the congestion." Prince Philip at the opening of City Hall, 2002.