} LOTR IN TIME!! HOORAY!!

I spend much of the time at the computer typing my fanfic now. I've made much progress in my life today - not only did I write a fairly satisfactory first chapter of my fanfic, I also managed to finish my book reports, which I had been putting off. Yeah, I had promised to myself that I'd finish those two days ago...but the resolutions aren't that easy to keep. I was supposed to start on my Maths assignment yesterday, but I think I'll only start on it tomorrow.

Nevertheless, I'm still pleased with myself, so I'm rewarding myself with some quality Internet time right now - still waiting for my friends to go online, but apparently they're either asleep or have no access to the computer at this hour... I suppose an online chat room will make up for that nicely.

I can't be bothered with attending my teacher's wedding now. I thought it would be nice to come, but by now I've lost all my enthusiasm...I just feel like it'll be nicer, and a whole lot more comfortable, to spend a Saturday morning curled up in bed, plotting the next chapter of my fanfic or mindlessly estimating how long it would take me to solve each Maths problem... (an hour, probably, considering my extremely short attention span these days...)

If yesterday I was determined to go watch The Two Towers, now my determination is truly burning even more. A copy of Time arrived yesterday, and on its front page was a cropping of one of the Lord of the Rings poster. I couldn't help but grin despite myself, grinning like a mad maniac right at the dinner table, my parents both fortunately too busy discussing some less-than-important issues.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets never came up on Time.

And The Two Towers showed up right on the cover of Time, right in front, with Frodo's big fat face in a less-than-happy frown. I really couldn't help smiling rather triumphantly. And Time claims that The Two Towers might beat Chamber of Secrets this year. Of course, I don't trust Time entirely, but I sort of half-believed it, what with my obsession of LOTR or another.

The five-page long article turned out to be some crap about how LOTR depicts America's situation under terrorists' power now, and why Americans seem so fond of fantasy movies these days. The writer of the article claims that it is because Americans are finding refuge in the comfort of fantasy movies, as though they can escape from reality for at least three hours, just watching the movie. I claim that it is because Americans, along with the rest of the world, are simply pining for some hard-core action and fascinating magic stuff. Because that's certainly how I feel about HP and LOTR.

It isn't really much about escaping from reality, problems, etc. etc. etc. I just like the violence and whimsical fantasy LOTR offers, that's all. Nothing more. In fact, that's exactly why I'm even more encouraged to see The Two Towers now. Time quoted that TTT would be filled with more battles, more action, more bloody gory fights.

Cool.

How can even a giant fifty-foot snake compare to THAT?? The prospect of going to the cinema alone is certainly unpleasant, knowing I can't whisper comments to the person sitting next to me without being regarded a mad maniac. And besides, I hate talking to strangers. But for the sake of seeing the continuing adventure, some kicking of Orcs' butts and Frodo's twisted face - half scared, half trying to be brave - I think I'm quite ready to sacrifice anything else that may stand in the way.

All I can do is hope that the rating will stay as PG-13 and not be raised to PG-14 or something. In that case, I would simply have to either wrestle the person at the ticket counter in order to get a ticket, or work out a little deal with him/her. The thought of having to do either is certainly less-than-pleasant, so I had better e-mail filmratings.com with pleas and begs and, if I have to, threats.

I better stop filling my head with plans of blackmail, or I'll land myself in an asylum.

I don't know how to end this entry without sounding like an escaped nutter from a mental hospital, so I'll just put a random reminder to myself :

Note to self : remember to charge batteries for Discman tomorrow morning. (Only used it twice, and the batteries ran out AGAIN. Sigh.)



2002-11-28, 9:55 p.m..
before } after


we1rd0. getting old. deviantart, livejournal, the wunders, LOOK, A BIRD!, wise words. contact

ghetto. dumping ground for angst/etc since 2002.
newest & old stuff. diaryland.

elsewhere. links here.

heal the world. make poverty history. ONE.

your say.
"The problem with London is the tourists. They cause the congestion. If we could just stop the tourism, we could stop the congestion." Prince Philip at the opening of City Hall, 2002.