} When Neopets Attack

Nothing happened much today. Except I went along with my mum and brother to his piano lesson at Thomson Plaza today. It was EXTREMELY BORING. I'd better remind myself next time NEVER to come along next time. I was just so bored, I hardly had any choice. I spent most of the time in Popular Bookstore (while my brother is endlessly getting scolded by his teacher), reading one particular book that I really like (The Magical World of the Lord of the Rings. You should have guessed, huh?) and occasionally browsing through other books. So I just hung around the 'Bestsellers' section, and it was actually a bit annoying there, cos a lot of people also liked to stand around that section, looking at the Harry Potter books.

Speaking of Harry Potter, I've gotten rather sick of him now. After watching the movie, it gets really irritating seeing the ads everywhere. Once I even saw one in an elevator. The HP commercial comes out at least once every five minutes on TV, if I stay on one channel long enough. (Usually I don't.) It's even on the radio as well. I mean, COME ON, PEOPLE. Harry Potter isn't all that great. Sure the books are nice and everything, but really. Harry Potter is becoming almost a big a fuss as Titanic. The only thing keeping it from becoming Movie of the Century is probably the lack of Rated Scenes.

Or maybe I'm just being biased against Harry Potter because I love Lord of the Rings now, which is probably Harry Potter's biggest rival. Oh well...never mind.

Anyway. Speaking about Lord of the Rings...I just bought The Hobbit very recently, on Tuesday I think. I bought it at Times, which is A LOT BETTER than Popular, because it's loaded with LOTR books instead of HP books. (MWAHAHA.) I even saw a book called 'Bored of the Rings', a parody of The Fellowship of the Ring. I wanted to buy that at first, but I thought that it would be better to read the real Tolkien's work, so I bought The Hobbit instead. I considered buying The Return of the King, cos it's on the Bestsellers rack, but I thought I'm gonna see the movie on that, and even though seeing the movie isn't the same as reading the book, it would be pretty much similar.

I haven't touched it since the day I bought it. Of course, it's only been two days, but I'm planning to save it for later, a sort of Christmas present for myself. It's still wrapped in its original plastic foil, still sitting there in the Times plastic bag, tempting me like crazy. But I try to occupy myself with homework assignments instead, so it would be self-rewarding when I finally allow myself to read the book. (It's called self-psychology.) (OK, so it isn't. It's just some weird way to push myself to do my homework.)

I've finished reading The Borrowers AND Phoenix Rising. (Yay! Yippee! Hooray!) So now I only have to read two more books. I'm planning to borrow Who Moved My Cheese? in Bukit Batok Library tomorrow, and another book. I never realized how thin the book is, cos usually bestselling books are at least about half an inch thick. But this one is barely a centimetre thick. AND it's in large print. Well, not really large, but not tiny either, A LOT bigger than the print on my Maths assignment, at least.

Speaking of Maths... I don't want to speak about Maths, so let it go.

By the way, I'm not entirely obsessed with LOTR. Bet you're surprised to know that. I'm also obsessed with rock music (these days, I HAVE to watch MTV at least five minutes everyday, and I mysteriously start singing everywhere I go, or humming.) and I'm also rather obsessed with this internet virtual game called Neopets.

Sounds normal? Maybe because you've never heard of or seen Neopets before. Just click on that link a few lines above, and you'll see. And start browsing around.

WHAM. Bright colours, little virtual midgets scurrying around the page, and a lot of stuff there that obviously speaks in another language (to you).

I know. It's not actually kiddies' stuff, it was originally made for university students, can you believe that, but in the end a lot of little kids started playing, so it became known as a children's site. And it IS a bit spastic and childish sometimes, but who cares? I love it. About three million other people love it too, many of whom are grown-ups. Excuse me, but I think I have to feed this Chocolate Faerie Cake to my widdle smugglewump.

Sorry. You must have been really shocked. Have you recovered from it yet? Well, I don't care whether you have or not, because you ARE reading the rest of this diary entry. MWAHAHA.

WHY I brought up the subjects of Neopets? Because (yes, there IS a reason... I'm not quite THAT nuts yet, you know) I wanna show something off. (MWAHAHA.) I'm not sure if it's worth showing off actually, but who cares? I'm showing it off anyway. *shows off*

CLICK HERE OR SUFFER MY WRATH.

Clicked yet? Well, you'd better. Good. In case you're wondering, it's a little pic I did for someone else. Cute, ain't it? Not exactly the most beautifulest thing, but still cute. (I think so anyway, so lay off. *hmph*)

Now that that's done...I'll leave you to try to ponder this : what IS that pink thing with the wings and the little halo anyway? That is, if you know nada about Neopets. If you know tons about it, just shut up and leave this page. Now. Buh-bye.



2002-11-21, 9:19 p.m..
before } after


we1rd0. getting old. deviantart, livejournal, the wunders, LOOK, A BIRD!, wise words. contact

ghetto. dumping ground for angst/etc since 2002.
newest & old stuff. diaryland.

elsewhere. links here.

heal the world. make poverty history. ONE.

your say.
"The problem with London is the tourists. They cause the congestion. If we could just stop the tourism, we could stop the congestion." Prince Philip at the opening of City Hall, 2002.